know when to fold ’em

Dolce & Gabbana Fall/Winter 2009/10
MariaCarla Boscono, Edita Vilkeviciute & Heidi Mount/
Photographer
: Steven Klein

As much as I’ve tried to like these Dolce & Gabbana ads, I really just can’t. They’re Anne Hathaway to me.  It doesn’t help that the D&G ad formulas have grown trite — take one favorite model, add one established model and an up-and-comer posed at varying depths and throw in Steven Klein’s trademark saturated gloom until done.

That being said, there are a few things I do like (the surprise inclusion of Edita and MariaCarla, who always delivers) and more things I don’t. 1) The massive pink fur coats remind me way too much of Batman Forever goons or the stuffed animals one wins at carnival games; 2) No offense to Heidi Mount because she is earning her paycheck, but she feels like the odd one out; and 3) the cheap Vegas backdrop doesn’t do much but add to the cacophony of the colorful clothes and harsh lighting (and give me opportunity to give this post a cheesy Kenny Rogers title). On the bright side, at least Jesus Lulz isn’t in them!

images: dolceandgabbana.com via tfs
3 Comments

Filed under ads, Fashion

3 responses to “know when to fold ’em

  1. Irene

    Anne Hathaway huh …

  2. sarahdanslenoir

    Yup don’t like her… but never really forced myself to try.

  3. peek-a-boo

    First of all those shaggy coats and shoulder cancer lumps (gorilla? tibetan mountain goat? yeti? bigfoot? ) are horrible and I don’t understand the fascination for them (unless you’re that editor of Love magazine).I doubt we’ll ever see anyone in one queueing up for Poutine.
    Maria Carla always leaves me speechless.I’ve been missing her lately.One sees Italy just looking at her beautiful Roman face.
    Ditto about Steven Klein and the tacky Vegas backdrop.
    P.S. the clothes might scare gamblers away thinking they walked into a drag queen’s convention.

Leave a Reply

