dress to thrill

Vogue Deutsch September 2009
Anja Rubik / Photographer: Alexi Lubomirski

Damn, Anja’s on a roll this year, scoring her fourth Vogue cover in addition to Vogue Paris, Nippon and Korea. And since I’m a fan, I think it’s about time she got some cover recognition! She’s also got a saucy 16-page editorial inside taken by hottie photog Alexi Lubomirski. Some shots are stunning, but there’s an awful lot going on with the cluttered shopping boxes, furniture and decor. Not to mention, the tattooed male model, who doesn’t seem to fit the theme of sophisticated luxury. Think I still prefer her editorial from Vogue Paris June/July, which had a very similar concept.

images: helligirl@tfs
2 Comments

Filed under Editorials, Fashion, magazines

2 responses to “dress to thrill

  1. peekaaboo

    Yay she’s got another cover!
    For some time Anya seemed kind of under rated…seen everywhere but no one really mentioned her.Then KAPOW she cut her hair short (like fabulous… ahem CANADIAN!!!… Linda Evangelista did in the 90s) and I noticed her career really took off.At the time everyone was talking about Anya risking the short cut and how it worked for her.Because not everyone can get away with a short cut I think.I recall Naomi Campbell did it in the late 90s and it was yucks.Needless to to say she was never ever seen with short hair NOR a short wig ever again.I think she even lost a Chanel contract at the time.Mizz Lagerfeld was so shocked LOL!I hope Anya basks in all her glory while it lasts.Numerous 14yr old Annas are creeping up behind her.
    P.S. I love Anya’s slight lisp.

  2. sarahdanslenoir

    I thought Anja was gonna linger at a certain level. I mean she did really well after chopping her hair and got tons of ad campaigns but not covers. I’m glad that’s not the case, tho I wonder if she’ll keep her hair short still. The short cut seems to be working wonders for Iris Strubegger too. Haha, Anja has competition from the teens and the old supers!

Leave a Reply

