i cannot work with bitches, i can’t, i can’t

I already adore Alber Elbaz for his flattering, drool worthy designs and penguin suits, but I also admire him for his self-deprecating and sensitive personality. This is kind of old news but I finally flipped through August’s British Vogue and read the Alexandra Shulman piece on the much-loved Lanvin designer, and this quote struck a chord with me because it’s so fitting of my life right now!

“The people I chose to run my new store in London are nice. I cannot work with bitches, I can’t, I can’t. Maybe I am too sensitive, I get blocked. There are some people who don’t give a damn. With me, I find that if there is no energy flowing or no connection, I can’t think. Talent is amazing – I love it, appreciate it. I respect talent a lot. But if you ask me, ‘Talent and bitch, or less talent and good?’ I’ll go with less talent.”

Big fat WORD Alber!! Less bitches please!

A snap from Lanvin’s opulent F/W 2009 show…

image: style via tfs
4 Comments

Filed under Fashion

4 responses to “i cannot work with bitches, i can’t, i can’t

  1. Maria

    I agree with him so much. It is so important to be surrounded with people that doesn´t make you miserable. I love Alber, he seems so humble, and doesn´t act like he is some god, or a superior human being. It´s quite refreshing with a person like that in the fashion industry.

  2. peekaaboo

    Such wise words! He’s my fav designer along with Galliano.
    I can’t even bring myself to say the word but there’s a youknowwhat at my office too and the bad energy that oozes out of her has us all frantically Googling for an exorcist! One colleague hates her so much he even slipped a laxative in her hot chocolate one morning……….oh the drama!

  3. sarahdanslenoir

    Hi Maria,

    Agreed, he is so unique in the industry and so different from other designers! And his clothes are absolutely amazing. Hoping he doesn’t buff up a la Marc Jacobs and change!

  4. sarahdanslenoir

    I also have a youknowwhat and it is such bad energy! it’s like the devil wears prada (tho not even in the fashion industry!), but as my friend says, “they’re no meryl streep!” haha I can’t believe your coworker did that!!! the hate must be intense!

Leave a Reply

